|
A |
| Accessibility: The art of ensuring that, to as large an extent as possible, facilities (such as, for example, Web access) are available to people whether or not they have impairments of one sort or another. WAI - Pronounced 'way'. Short for the Web Accessibility Initiative, an initiative of the World Wide Web Consortium launched in 1997 to ensure that as the Internet grows in usage Web sites are designed to accommodate people with disabilities. Web design can present barriers to people with disabilities, especially people with sensory or neurological disabilities. The WAI was implemented to ensure that Web site design addresses the needs of people with these disabilities. The following are examples of the accommodations that Web designers need to consider in order to be compliant with the WAI's guidelines.
|
| Architecture: The term architecture can refer to either hardware or software, or to a combination of hardware and software. The architecture of a system always defines its broad outlines, and may define precise mechanisms as well. An open architecture allows the system to be connected easily to devices and programs made by other manufacturers. Open architectures use off-the-shelf components and conform to approved standards. A system with a closed architecture, on the other hand, is one whose design is proprietary, making it difficult to connect the system to other systems.
|
| Artifact: A piece of digital information. An artifact may be any size, and may be composed of other artifacts. Examples of artifacts: a message; a URI; an XML document; a PNG image; a bit stream. In digital photography and digital video an artifact refers to any visible defect. Jaggies is considered to be a type of digital artifact, and image compression may also introduce artifacts into a digital image. |
|
B |
| Blog: Short for Web Log, these websites are similar to a journal, easy to update and are often used for commentary on a narrow or niche subject. Blogs can be linked to and often comments to the author’s post are allowed. This publicly accessible personal journal for an individual is typically updated daily, blogs often reflect the personality of the author. Blogs can be effective marketing tools as search engines have put a lot of credence in them due to them being almost completely text content that is fresh. |
| Bounce Rate: The bounce rate refers to the percentage of website visitors that leave a site without clicking on a second page. A bounce rate of 60% means that 6 out of 10 visitors leave a site without sampling other pages. Web strategists will study the bounce rate on various site pages and for various traffic sources to make informed decisions on content and strategy. |
| Browser: A Web client that allows a human to read information on the Web. Short for Web Browser, a software application used to locate and display Web pages. The two most popular browsers are Mozilla Firefox and Microsoft Internet Explorer. Both of these are graphical browsers, which means that they can display graphics as well as text. Other browsers are SeaMonkey, Opera, and Safari which is for the MAC operating system. In addition, most modern browsers can present multimedia information, including sound and video, though they require plug-ins for some formats. |
|
C |
| Click-Thru-Rate: Often expressed as CTR, this is the ratio of clicks on a link to the number of impressions mostly in reference to a pay-per-click ad. If a web link, banner ad or search engine sponsored link is displayed 1,000 times and somebody clicks on it 18 times, then the CTR is 1.8% (18/1,000=0.018)
|
| Content Management Tools: A Content Management Tools or CMT's are used usually by non-webmasters to update content on a website or intranet. Virtually anything on a page (text, graphics, video, PDFs) can be updated using a CMT. iNET website engineers have developed a custom site edit backbone that allows iNET website customers to log into their website edit area and add, update or change any content. iNET uses no junk or template code so that even though iNET websites can carry a heavy database backbone simply for the administration of content, iNET websites are still perfectly friendly to search engine spiders. iNET content management tools are so simple a child can master them quickly. Every iNET website production comes with free training and free support for life. This continuity and customer friendly attitude at iNET is a big advantage for iNET customers hungry to make the most of their iNET profit generating web based marketing platform. |
| Conversion - Conversion Rates: The number or percentage of site visitors who do what the site owner wants - usually buy something. If an offer is viewed 100 times and 6 sales are made, the conversion is 6% (6/100=0.06). An iNET Web creative genius inspired website development is all about maximizing the conversion rate of your site. Even a wannabe website developer can increase the traffic on a website. If increased traffic is simply website indexing programs from the wannabe submitting your site or programmed traffic, it has less than no value. Search engines requested repeatedly to index a site and seeing poor development, template code and static content actually devalue the website pushing it farther down in native search results. The top of free, or native search results, is not just increased REAL website traffic, it is the top of free searches which yields the website traffic most likely to become a positive result in your web site 'conversion' or "sales" rate. iNET Web based in Waukesha, Wisconsin develops every aspect, of every web marketing platform we do from the perspective of maximizing our customer’s conversion rate. iNET graphic designers build beautiful unique perfectly representative graphic website layouts iNET programmers write perfectly clean web site code exactly as search engines require in order for every iNET custom database website to achieve maximum profitability. The iNET Web creative genius website copy write and web marketing team write clean concise perfectly definitive business defining copy in order to not only achieve the highest native search result but to also achieve the highest conversion rate for iNET customer businesses. iNET search engine optimization specialists take the iNET programming perfection, creative genius inspired website graphic design and the iNET business defining copy write and make sure it is organized exactly as search engine website indexing software requires to achieve maximum REAL customer traffic. With every aspect of your website composed as it should be by the iNET custom creative genius inspired website development team achieving maximum conversion rates is a piece of cake. iNET Web will deliver conversion rates that measurably enhance your bottom line. |
| CSS (Cascading style sheets): Short for Cascading Style Sheets, a language for writing style sheets a feature of HTML that gives both Web site developers and users more control over how pages are displayed. With CSS, designers and users can create style sheets that define how different elements, such as headers and links, appear. These style sheets can then be applied to any Web page. A style sheet is a file that defines the layout the document. When you fill in a style sheet, you specify such parameters as the page size, margins, and fonts. Style sheets are useful because you can use the same style sheet for many documents. The term cascading derives from the fact that multiple style sheets can be applied to the same Web page. CSS was developed by the W3C. |
|
D |
| Digital signature: A very large number created in such a way that it can be shown to have been done only by somebody in possession of a secret key and only by processing a document with a particular content. It can be used for the same purposes as a person's handwritten signature on a physical document. Something you can do with public key cryptography. A digital code that can be attached to an electronically transmitted message that uniquely identifies the sender. Like a written signature, the purpose of a digital signature is to guarantee that the individual sending the message really is who he or she claims to be. Digital signatures are especially important for electronic commerce and are a key component of most authentication schemes. To be effective, digital signatures must be unforgeable. There are a number of different encryption techniques to guarantee this level of security. |
| Directory: An online directory is similar to a search engine, except that non-paid results are determined more by humans and not by robotic spiders that search engines use to capture, categorize and rank web content. |
| Document: |
| Domain Name: A name (such as com of a service, Web site, or computer, and so on in a hierarchical system of delegated authority- the Domain Name System. Short for Domain Name System (or Service or Server), an Internet service that translates domain names into IP addresses. Because domain names are alphabetic, they're easier to remember. The Internet however, is really based on IP addresses. Every time you use a domain name, therefore, a DNS service must translate the name into the corresponding IP address. For example, the domain name www.example.com might translate to 198.105.232.4. The DNS system is, in fact, its own network. If one DNS server doesn't know how to translate a particular domain name, it asks another one, and so on, until the correct IP address is returned.
Because the Internet is based on IP addresses, not domain names, every Web server requires a Domain Name System (DNS) server to translate domain names into IP addresses. |
|
F |
| Front Page Optimization: Abbreviated as FPO, front page optimization is the process of increasing the amount of visitor click-through and reducing bounce rates. This process helps identify short and long term solutions in the areas of home page loading and rendering times. |
|
G |
| Genius: A genius is a person of great intelligence, who shows an exceptional natural capacity of intellect, especially as shown in creative and original work. Geniuses always show strong individuality and imagination, and are not only intelligent, but unique and innovative. Used specifically to denote an exceptional natural capacity of intellect and creative originality in areas of art, literature, music, science and mathematics. The ability to imagine new possibilities is as important as general intelligence. The ability to analyze the work of other great minds and use that information to make new discoveries. The creativity of geniuses also relates to productivity and hard work. Geniuses like Einstein are also known for their creativity and productivity -- and sometimes for their quirky behavior. Experimental innovators learn through trial and error and do their best work after lengthy experimentation. At iNET Web creative genius is part of the process for our gifted and talented website design and development crew. A quick review of the work iNET does while developing custom web sites makes it clear iNET stands alone in the web development community in both our willingness and our ability to deliver incredible website function coupled with innovative graphic design. At iNET Custom Creative Genius inspired websites that generate profit for our customers is what we are. We guaranty it! |
| GIF: Short for Graphics Interchange Format, another of the graphics formats supported by the Web. Unlike JPG, the GIF format is a lossless compression technique and it supports only 256 colors. GIF is better than JPG for images with only a few distinct colors, such as line drawings, black and white images and small text that is only a few pixels high. With an animation editor, GIF images can be put together for animated images. GIF also supports transparency, where the background color can be set to transparent in order to let the color on the underlying Web page to show through. The compression algorithm used in the GIF format is owned by Unisys, and companies that use the algorithm are supposed to license the use from Unisys.* Generally, GIF files should be used for logos, line drawings and icons. Avoid using it for photographic images, and graphics which have long stretches of continuous-tone in them. When you're designing GIF files, avoid using gradients and turn off anti-aliasing where possible to minimize the file size. |
| Google Analytics: A free website metrics service that can be added to a website to track site traffic, popular pages, time spent on the site, etc. Like it or not, Google is the dominant website search engine on the World Wide Web. While we at iNET are not so foolish to think Google is doing anything THE Google does for the simple joy of it alone, Google does offer a lot of great services and tools. Google Analytics is one of those tools Google provides free for website owners. Google Analytics is a program that gets installed in a website by the web site administrator. The analytics program allows experts and novice website administrators alike to see how often and simply how the website is being navigated. There are many analytic programs that can be used to see how websites are being traversed. Google Analytics is a great tool for extrapolating information about website user’s habits in a particular website. Google Analytics can tell a website administrator how website surfers found the site, what pages they viewed even how long the site user stayed on any page or the entire site. For every iNET Web customer profitability is a turnkey solution as a result of a website design and development company developing PROFIT generating websites. You don’t have to know how to do anything in regard to your website with iNET Web. Still, analytic programs can be very interesting to look at. Nowhere else in marketing can you see exactly how your marketing is being received and how often. iNET uses a number of different analytic programs in order to maximize our website design customer profitability. Google Analytics, as well as some of the more sophisticated website analytic programs iNET uses, can help refine content, site layout, code issues and even graphic design. For example; if an analytic program shows hits to a homepage but no site viewers making it to the shopping cart or request for a quote the analytic program may be showing the website navigation is unclear or the site is not representative of how people are finding the site. Pay Per Click will often create one page quick retreat website navigation where web surfers flee after being redirected from what they are looking for. While many website wannabes will not allow you to see raw data, (Typically because the whole picture shows their poor performance) iNET encourages our website customers to get involved to whatever degree they are comfortable. As an iNET Web design you don’t have to worry about figuring out how to maximize the data shown in an analytic program. Still, you might find it very interesting. |
| Graphics: Two- or three-dimensional images, typically drawings or photographs. PEG/JPG, short for Joint Photographic Experts Group, the original name of the committee that wrote the standard. JPG is one of the image file formats supported on the Web. JPG is a lossy compression technique that is designed to compress color and grayscale continuous-tone images. The information that is discarded in the compression is information that the human eye cannot detect. JPG images support 16 million colors and are best suited for photographs and complex graphics. The user typically has to compromise on either the quality of the image or the size of the file. JPG does not work well on line drawings, lettering or simple graphics because there is not a lot of the image that can be thrown out in the lossy process, so the image loses clarity and sharpness. As a rule, the JPEG format should be used on photographic images, and images which do not look as good with only 256 colors. When it comes to graphics iNET Web graphic designers imparting creative genius set iNET web site customers far out front and above all competitors. Custom graphically unique intriguing iNET websites captivate potential customers. iNET website development customers have a distinct advantage over the template cookie cutter websites that dominate the internet. iNET Web will build you site perfectly definitive of your products and services to search engine spiders. When your potential customers are escorted directly to your website by the search engines iNET graphic design will keep them in the site. Creative custom graphic design by iNET makes your business more legitimate in the eyes of consumers who have never even heard of your company. Take a look at the iNET successes pages. How about a flash animation of the owner of your company spoon feeding twenty second of your most important message to potential clients? How about entertaining multimedia graphic displays? Or how about navigation that fascinates and entertains your website viewers as they navigate your site? iNET will do these features and many more in a graphic masterpiece promoting and selling for you. |
|
H |
| Hits: Usually refers to the number of visitors to a website or the number of pages viewed on the website. Also called a page hit. The retrieval of any item, like a page or a graphic, from a Web server. For example, when a visitor calls up a Web page with four graphics, that's five hits, one for the page and four for the graphics. For this reason, hits often aren't a good indication of Web traffic. Compare with page view. Hits are one of the misnomers goofy web site developer wannabes apply to measure the success of their website development. A second tier website with a triple the traffic increase or some other nonsense is still a profitless drag on a businesses bottom line. While iNET web has very complex web site traffic monitoring tools hits are of little to no value. What matters most is website sales leads generated and sales made. iNET will develop a website that generates more traffic at every measurable level. The only measure iNET applies to your website production is increased profitability. iNET will deliver a web site that, "Hits," hard at your competitions bottom line while measurable enhancing yours. |
| HTML (Hypertext markup language): A computer language for representing the contents of a page of hypertext; the language that most Web pages are currently written in. Short for HyperText Markup Language, the authoring language used to create documents on the World Wide Web. HTML is similar to SGML, although it is not a strict subset. |
| HTTP (Hypertext transfer protocol): A computer protocol for transferring information across the Net in such a way as to meet the demands of a global hypertext system. Part of the original design of the Web, continued in a W3C activity, and now a HTTP 1.1 IETF draft standard. Short for HyperText Transfer Protocol, the underlying protocol used by the World Wide Web. HTTP defines how messages are formatted and transmitted, and what actions Web servers and browsers should take in response to various commands. For example, when you enter a URL in your browser, this actually sends an HTTP command to the Web server directing it to fetch and transmit the requested Web page. HTTP is called a stateless protocol because each command is executed independently, without any knowledge of the commands that came before it. This is the main reason that it is difficult to implement Web sites that react intelligently to user input. This shortcoming of HTTP is being addressed in a number of new technologies, including ActiveX, Java, JavaScript, AJAX and cookies. |
| Hypertext: Nonsequential writing; Ted Nelson's term for a medium that includes links. Nowadays it includes other media apart from text and is sometimes called hypermedia. A special type of database system, invented by Ted Nelson in the 1960s, in which objects (text, pictures, music, programs, and so on) can be creatively linked to each other. When you select an object, you can see all the other objects that are linked to it. You can move from one object to another even though they might have very different forms. For example, while reading a document about Mozart, you might click on the phrase Violin Concerto in A Major, which could display the written score or perhaps even invoke a recording of the concerto. Clicking on the name Mozart might cause various illustrations of Mozart to appear on the screen. The icons that you select to view associated objects are called Hypertext links or buttons. Hypertext systems are particularly useful for organizing and browsing through large databases that consist of disparate types of information. There are several Hypertext systems available for Apple Macintosh computers and PCs that enable you to develop your own databases. Such systems are often called authoring systems . HyperCard software from Apple Computer is the most famous. |
|
I |
| Inbound Links: Links to a website from other sites. They accomplish two things: provides traffic from other sources and elevate search engine rankings. Some search engines favor sites with more inbound links than competitors because they are an indicator of being an "authority" site. When websites link freely to other websites because of the content they provide THEIR OWN visitors search engines like Google raise the ranking of the website being linked to. |
| Internet: A global network of networks through which computers communicate by sending information in packets. Each network consists of computers connected by cables or wireless links. A global network connecting millions of computers. More than 100 countries are linked into exchanges of data, news and opinions. Unlike online services, which are centrally controlled, the Internet is decentralized by design. Each Internet computer, called a host, is independent. Its operators can choose which Internet services to use and which local services to make available to the global Internet community. Remarkably, this anarchy by design works exceedingly well.There are a variety of ways to access the Internet. Most online services, such as America Online, offer access to some Internet services. It is also possible to gain access through a commercial Internet Service Provider (ISP). The Internet is not synonymous with World Wide Web. |
| Intranet: A part of the Internet or part of the Web used internally within a company or organization. A network based on TCP/IP protocols (an internet) belonging to an organization, usually a corporation, accessible only by the organization's members, employees, or others with authorization. An intranet's Web sites look and act just like any other Web sites, but the firewall surrounding an intranet fends off unauthorized access. Like the Internet itself, intranets are used to share information. Secure intranets are now the fastest-growing segment of the Internet because they are much less expensive to build and manage than private networks based on proprietary protocols. |
| Invisible Links: This old webmaster trick will probably get you de-listed from search engines. It's done by putting keywords on a page that are the same color as the background of the site. There is no real benefit to doing it as there are 2 dozen or more places to put keywords on a web page. Some operators have used this technique to "cloak" the use of competitor names, but it very often can be detected. Avoid the use of invisible keywords. iNET Web the builder of custom creative genius inspired website solutions does not ever use invisible links. iNET Web site developers are more expert in search engine optimization than anyone. At iNET we simply do whatever it takes inside the boundaries that search engine spiders apply to their valuation of any individual website page. It is very common for second tier website developers or unknowing businesses developing their own website to make huge mistakes that damage the websites ability to win in native searches on search engines like Google. Even worse, second tier search engine optimization tactics like invisible links can put a black mark on a website that stains the ability of the web site to achieve in native searches long after the invisible link is removed. As an iNET Web website development customer you can have confidence iNET will not do development that devalues your website to the point that the only way you can be found on the internet is by someone who knows your domain name or profit leeching pay per click. |
| IP (Internet protocol): The protocol that governs how computers send packets across the Internet. Designed by Vint Cerf and Bob Khan. (IP may also stand for intellectual property; see IPR.) (pronounced as separate letters) Short for Internet Protocol. IP specifies the format of packets, also called datagrams, and the addressing scheme. Most networks combine IP with a higher-level protocol called Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), which establishes a virtual connection between a destination and a source. IP by itself is something like the postal system. It allows you to address a package and drop it in the system, but there's no direct link between you and the recipient. TCP/IP, on the other hand, establishes a connection between two hosts so that they can send messages back and forth for a period of time. |
| ISP (Internet service provider): Short for Internet Service Provider, a company that provides access to the Internet. For a monthly fee, the service provider gives you a software package, username, password and access phone number. Equipped with a modem, you can then log on to the Internet and browse the World Wide Web and USENET, and send and receive e-mail. In addition to serving individuals, ISPs also serve large companies, providing a direct connection from the company's networks to the Internet. ISPs themselves are connected to one another through Network Access Points (NAPs). Some users have a cable or some sort of wireless link to their ISP. For others, their computer may dial an ISP by phone and send and receive Internet packets over the phone line; the ISP then forwards the packets over the Internet. |
|
J |
| Java: A programming language developed (originally as "Oak") by James Gosling of Sun Microsystems. Designed for portability and usability embedded in small devices, Java took off as a language for small applications ("applets") that ran within a Web browser. |
| JPEG (Joint photographic experts group): JPEG (Joint Photographic Experts Group) is a lossy compression method standardized by ISO. This group defined a format for encoding photographs that uses fewer bytes than the pixel-by-pixel approaches of GIF and PNG, without too much visible degradation in quality. The format (JFIF) is casually referred to as JPEG. Short for Joint Photographic Experts Group, and pronounced jay-peg. JPEG is a lossy compression technique for color images. Although it can reduce files sizes to about 5% of their normal size, some detail is lost in the compression. |
|
L |
| Line-mode: In high and far-off times, people did not see computer programs through windows. They typed commands on a terminal, and the computer replied with text, which was displayed on the screen (or printed on a roll of paper) interleaved with the commands, much as though the person were in a chat session with the computer program. If you have seen a "DOS window," then you have some idea of how people did their communicating with computers in those days, before they learned how to drag and drop. Line-mode is still a very respectable way to communicate with a computer. A Web client that communicated with the user in line-mode and could run all kinds of computers that did not have windows or mice. |
| Link: A reference from one document to another (external link), or from one location in the same document to another (internal link), that can be followed efficiently using a computer. The unit of connection in hypertext. |
| Link Farm: A service that provides links to a website. Some search engines consider the number of inbound links in their ranking algorithms. But search engines view these manufactured links as a form of SPAM and may penalize sites that use this strategy. The process of exchanging reciprocal links with Web sites in order to increase search engine optimization. The idea behind link farming is to increase the number of sites that link to yours because search engines such as Google rank sites according to, among other things, the quality and quantity of sites that link to yours. In theory, the more sites that link to yours, the higher your ranking in the search engine results will be because the more links indicate a higher level of popularity among users of the Internet. However, search engines such as Google consider link farming as a form of spam and have been implementing procedures to banish sites that participate in link farming, so the term link farming has garnered negative connotations across the Internet. There are many service providers who promise to help you boost your link popularity by automatically entering you into link exchange programs they operate, often linking your page with Web sites that have nothing to do with your content. But users should be aware of the repercussions of this action as the major search engines penalize sites that participate in link farming, thereby reversing their intended effect. A link farm is a Web page that is nothing more than a page of links to other sites. At iNET Web we are more aware of what it takes to win in free or native search engine queries and better able to put a website at the top of search engines than anyone. iNET does not recommend link farm programs. The reason is perfectly simple. Major search engines are working harder and harder at developing software that will measure accurately what a website is about. At iNET we are well aware that anything that attributes a false value to a website is not only devalued by the major search engines tactics that attempt to mislead a websites value to search engines often carry a punishment of actually devaluing the website in question. If you have a wannabe website developer you may have nothing to lose in joining a link farm program. You will likely end up in a second rate underperforming pay per click campaign if you want to show up on the first page in a native search anyway. With an iNET custom creative genius inspired web site solution you don't need link farms to achieve great value. iNET SEO will put you at the top of free searched with no cheating required. |
| Link Popularity: The number of inbound links to a website. In the early days of the World Wide Web being associated with other websites was very important. A link into your website was difficult to fake and links into a website were and easy metric for search engine spiders. (Search engine indexing software was nothing in comparison with what it is today.) A link in was and is still considered a vote of confidence from the web site providing it. The more links in the more popular your site was and a greater value was assessed for your website.iNET Web or Milwaukee/Waukesha Wisconsin search engine specialists are on top of every trend search engines move toward or standard search engines apply in deciding the legitimacy and value of any website at any time. With more complex indexing software it is clear that the value a web site could once achieve by getting as many links into their web site has been hugely diminished. The beginning of the end for the value of incoming links was the event of Link Farms. A link farm is offered by unscrupulous website marketing companies. The idea is that you pay them a fee and they set your website up on dozens, hundreds or even thousands of websites they own for the expressed purpose of providing outgoing links. Occasionally an iNET web development customer will join a link farm without telling us trying to help their website value. On more than one occasion the website showed a serious drop in page rank and native search engine result. The way search engine algorithms’ calculate the value of a link is changed forever because of these, “Spoofing,” or false links. Incoming links from a link farm can actually remove substantial value from your website in regard to the actual content and website construction value. The reason for link devaluation was simple. If you are going to pay a service provider to get around the way search engines truly value a website the search engines prefer you pay them. At iNET Web we recommend NEVER using a linking service. It is very common for second tier website developers to plaster links, even hidden links back to themselves in every website they do. Not only is this tactic detrimental to the website they do it to they actually damage their own site value. That is an ironic twist for the hack developers that we get a kick out of at iNET Web. The creative genius inspired website team at iNET prefers iNET websites only receive links in to their website that actually are from associated websites or businesses. It is clear the big search engines continue to get more stringent with how they value or devalue every aspect of website composure. With real development being more affordable and delivering measurable profit creating results at iNET Web we find no reason for people to try to achieve false links in order to increase link popularity. A few real link votes of confidence have more value than hundreds of false links in your site winning in free searches on the web AND real links won’t devalue your site search engines. |
|
M |
| Management Interface: Interface through which the management capabilities of a service are exposed. |
| Meta: A prefix to indicate something applied to itself; for example, a metameeting is a meeting about meetings. |
|
N |
| Natural Search Results - Organic Searches - SERPS: The results of a search engine inquiry that do not include paid or sponsored links. Some surfers prefer or trust natural search engine rankings over paid links. iNET Web is committed to staying at the absolute pinnacle of what it takes in the website development industry to get iNET customer web site marketing solutions to the profit margin quickly and keep them there permanently. While Pay-Per-Click has some value in specific cases at iNET, we refer to PPC as a life blood sucking parasite for most website developments. Natural search results or "Organic searches" have been found in web industry study after study to more truly reflect what the Internet surfer is actually looking for. Studies show sponsored links are much less likely to be followed than natural search results by human beings. At iNET Web we get your web site to the top of organic searches where profits are made. We guaranty it! |
| neXT: Name of the company started by Steve Jobs, and of the computer it manufactured, that integrated many novelties such as the Mach kernel, Unix, NeXTStep, Objective-C, drag-and-drop application builders, optical disks, and digital signal processors. The development platform I used for the first Web client.
|
| NNTP (Network news transfer protocol): A protocol that defines how news articles are passed around between computers. Each computer passes an article to any of its neighbors that have not yet got it. |
|
P |
| Packet: A unit into which information is divided for transmission across the Internet. |
| Pageviews: The number of pages viewed on a website. A Web page that has been viewed by one visitor. Page views are often used in online advertising, where advertisers use the number of page views a site receives to determine where and how to advertise. This metric can refer to the total number of pages viewed or the number or average number of pages viewed by a visitor. It can also be segmented by the type of visitor traffic. This metric is useful in assessing the trend of a site or the success of particular marketing initiative. |
| Paid Results: The results of a search engine inquiry. These are links for certain keywords that are purchased from search engines or directories. The are often shown as "sponsored links." |
| Pay-Per-Click: Paid search engine results. Sponsored links on Search Engine Results Pages can be purchased for virtually any keyword or phrase. Sponsored links can make it to the top of search engines in a day or less. Natural Search Engine Results can take longer to build. While iNET Web, the best Milwaukee area website development firm does manage a number of Pay-Per-Click campaigns for business clients unable or unwilling to develop the website content or pay for the search engine optimized production of a web site required to win in free searches, iNET considers pay-per-click website marketing to be a second tier web marketing solution. Yes, Pay-Per-Click can be advantageous in certain situations; When a new website is released a business or website owner may be impatient to get to the top of search engines, when businesses want to be found for extremely competitive search terms or when web site based businesses want to be found in searches that their website is not truly representative of to search engine spiders. An iNET web site has no limit to how high it can climb in native search engine queries. From the perspective of the iNET creative genius inspired web development team, website owners are much better off spending a little money once for native search engine results at the top of free search engines than paying monthly for Pay-Per-Click sponsored links. With very few exceptions long term Pay-Per-Click campaigns are a life blood sucking parasite on a businesses bottom line. iNET builds every web site free of template code and second tier website development techniques. Template code and many of the common website development techniques used by unknowing or indifferent web site developers break rules search engine spiders apply to measure a website. Web site industry study after study show three very serious factors every business looking to get started with or to improve their website marketing platform needs to consider. The first is World Wide Web surfers are becoming less and less likely to go deep into search results. Most will not go more than three pages into a search result. Three pages represent roughly thirty websites. A consistently growing percentage of web surfers will not look at sites that do not come up on the first page of a search result. While those facts seem to point to the value of Pay-Per-Click the second factor dispels the myth that Pay-Per-Click is the right solution. Study after study in the web development industry indicate search engine users avoid sponsored or Pay-Per-Click links. The reason is simple; Web surfers have been trained by clicking on Pay-Per-Click links that they are less likely to find exactly what they were searching for. Put simply, anyone can pay for a sponsored or Pay-Per-Click listing that puts them at the top of a sponsored result for any search term. Web surfers have come to understand that paid links are often intended to redirect a search engine user from their intended search result. There is no lock at the top of search engines keeping any website out. No mater what your second tier website developer tells you Pay-Per-Click is not a website marketing profit maximizing web marketing solution. You can and will win at the very top of search engines for your chosen keywords with an iNET correctly composed website coupled with iNET search engine maximization. Website industry surveys show definitively, businesses get more traffic and the traffic at the top of free search engines is more likely to generate sales. A correctly composed creative genius inspired iNET website marketing solution costs less, pays for your old wannabe produced website quickly and then moves your business into the deep refreshing profit filled water of the internet revenue stream in a way Pay-Per-Click cannot. |
| PDF: Portable Document Format. Often a non-editable version of a Word or Excel document. PDFs can also limit the changes made to a document, such as a form. PDFs are often emailed or downloadable from a website and are great ways to present some types of information. A PDF is a simple way for novice website managers and website administrators to load content to their own website. The PDF is an actual image of text, often times with graphics or images integrated. A PDF is easy to print easy to load in most template website programs and is easy for website viewers to download. For a lot of second tier second tier website developers the PDF is a great way to get a site to the point where the website production is completed and the website is published to the internet with the façade of good content. For many businesses not understanding how the PDF file is measured by search engines the PDF is at best a lost opportunity for real content and at worst a disaster in lost profitability and market share. While many search engine spiders can actually read the PDF file form, PDF content has a considerably lower value assigned when search engines determine both the legitimacy of a website and the content value of a website. At iNET we prefer to convert a PDF file into web industry standard web page content. There is a place for PDF files in web site development. With profitability being of the utmost importance to iNET Web we prefer to keep the place of the PDF limited in the websites iNET produces. iNET imparts creative genius, building custom websites that literally make iNET customers profit. While it can be extra work at iNET we prefer to break large groups of PDF files into custom database structures that maximize the content value. For customers with just a few PDF, iNET will simply recreate the PDF to a web standard text file format. Better file structure allows iNET to deliver maximum content value and website profitability as part of every website marketing production iNET does. |
| PNG: Short for Portable Network Graphics, the third graphics standard supported by the Web (though not supported by all browsers). PNG was developed as a patent-free answer to the GIF format but is also an improvement on the GIF technique. An image in a lossless PNG file can be 5%-25% more compressed than a GIF file of the same image. PNG builds on the idea of transparency in GIF images and allows the control of the degree of transparency, known as opacity. Saving, restoring and re-saving a PNG image will not degrade its quality. PNG does not support animation like GIF does. PNG was developed to surpass the limitations of GIFs, and as a means by which developers can avoid having to worry about the patent licenses associated with other formats. Unisys announced in 1995 that it would require people to pay licensing fees in order to use GIF. This does not mean that anyone who creates or uses a GIF image has to pay for it. Authors writing programs that output GIF images are subject to licensing fees. |
| Protocol: A set of formal rules describing how to transmit data, especially across a network. Low level protocols define the electrical and physical standards to be observed, bit- and byte-ordering and the transmission and error detection and correction of the bit stream. High level protocols deal with the data formatting, including the syntax of messages, the terminal to computer dialogue, character sets, sequencing of messages etc. |
|
S |
| Search Engine: If you don't know what a search engine is you have no business being on the web. Please turn your computer off and apply for a job at McDonald's. Seriously though, search engines are the key to finding specific information on the vast expanse of the World Wide Web. Without sophisticated search engines, it would be virtually impossible to locate anything on the Web without knowing a specific URL. But do you know how search engines work? And do you know what makes some search engines more effective than others? When people use the term search engine in relation to the Web, they are usually referring to the actual search forms that searches through databases of HTML documents, initially gathered by a robot. There are basically three types of search engines: Those that are powered by robots (called crawlers; ants or spiders) and those that are powered by human submissions; and those that are a hybrid of the two. Crawler-based search engines are those that use automated software agents (called crawlers) that visit a Web site, read the information on the actual site, read the site's meta tags and also follow the links that the site connects to performing indexing on all linked Web sites as well. The crawler returns all that information back to a central depository, where the data is indexed. The crawler will periodically return to the sites to check for any information that has changed. The frequency with which this happens is determined by the administrators of the search engine. Human-powered search engines rely on humans to submit information that is subsequently indexed and catalogued. Only information that is submitted is put into the index. In both cases, when you query a search engine to locate information, you're actually searching through the index that the search engine has created - you are not actually searching the Web. These indices are giant databases of information that is collected and stored and subsequently searched. This explains why sometimes a search on a commercial search engine, such as Yahoo! or Google, will return results that are, in fact, dead links. Since the search results are based on the index, if the index hasn't been updated since a Web page became invalid the search engine treats the page as still an active link even though it no longer is. It will remain that way until the index is updated. So why will the same search on different search engines produce different results? Part of the answer to that question is because not all indices are going to be exactly the same. It depends on what the spiders find or what the humans submitted. But more important, not every search engine uses the same algorithm to search through the indices. The algorithm is what the search engines use to determine the relevance of the information in the index to what the user is searching for. One of the elements that a search engine algorithm scans for is the frequency and location of keywords on a Web page. Those with higher frequency are typically considered more relevant. But search engine technology is becoming sophisticated in its attempt to discourage what is known as keyword stuffing, or spamdexing. Another common element that algorithms analyze is the way that pages link to other pages in the Web. By analyzing how pages link to each other, an engine can both determine what a page is about (if the keywords of the linked pages are similar to the keywords on the original page) and whether that page is considered "important" and deserving of a boost in ranking. Just as the technology is becoming increasingly sophisticated to ignore keyword stuffing, it is also becoming more savvy to Web masters who build artificial links into their sites in order to build an artificial ranking. Key Terms To Understanding Web Search Engines:
|
| Search Engine Optimization: Search engine optimization (SEO) is the process of improving the volume and quality of traffic to a web site from search engines via "natural" or "organic" search results for targeted keywords. Usually, the earlier a site is presented in the search results or the higher it "ranks", the more searchers will visit that site. As a marketing strategy for increasing a site's relevance, SEO considers how search algorithms work and what people search for. SEO efforts may involve a site's coding, presentation, and structure, as well as fixing problems that could prevent search engine indexing programs from fully spidering a site. Other, more noticeable efforts may include adding unique content to a site, ensuring that content is easily indexed by search engine robots, and making the site more appealing to users. Another class of techniques, known as black hat SEO or spamdexing, use methods such as link farms and keyword stuffing that tend to harm search engine user experience. Search engines look for sites that employ these techniques and may remove them from their index. Because effective SEO may require changes to the HTML source code of a site, SEO tactics may be incorporated into web site development and design. The term "search engine friendly" may be used to describe web site designs, menus, content management systems, URLs, and shopping carts that are easy to optimize. |
| SERP: Search Engine Results Page. The page that shows the results of a search. The major search engines typically display three kinds of listings on their SERPs. Listings that have been indexed by the search engine's spider, listings that have been indexed into the search engine's directory by a human, and listings that are paid to be listed by the search engine. At iNET web, a big part of the creative genius applied to every website development is the consideration for how iNET is going to make the website marketing profitable for our web site development customer. That is not a ‘simple’ or ‘work free’ proposition in most cases, that’s one of the reasons iNET is a superior choice for any business website development. The iNET web development, custom creative genius inspired, team is extremely successful in making iNET web marketing customers big profit in part by achieving the highest possible rank in both status and profitability on the first SERP of any internet search. A high rank on the first page of any native search engine query is the target search engine page result iNET aims at in every web development website marketing project we take on. The number one free search result in any native search engine query SERP is not locked for any search term on the internet on Google or any of the other search engines. iNET focuses on developing perfectly compliant to search engine spider website database code. The rules search engine spiders apply to measuring a website never sit still. As more businesses come on board the internet, as more businesses take website marketing more serious the rules continually change, making being perceived by search engines as the highest value web site for any individual search term a moving target. iNET web development and website marketing customers have the added benefit of iNET always changing how we develop websites to achieve the best position on a SERP. iNET even retroactively maintains correct database construction on existing websites. With website development code causing no restrictions in iNET web sites reaching the highest value on a SERP, iNET turns the big creative genius guns on custom, visually appealing and search engine friendly graphic design. Even graphic design predicated on the highest value result on a SERP helps iNET do a more profitable website marketing production for iNET customers. SERP targeting graphic design is another big advantage to iNET customer creative genius inspired website development. Superior graphic talents predicated on profitable SERP placement of iNET websites is how iNET can produce a major positive impression making graphically unique web look and feel that even in Flash or with integrated video that still achieves number one on the free column in the SERP. iNET creative genius content development and website marketing specialists round out the best result for iNET web marketing clients at the top of the first page in the free result in every search engine result page. Even the superior website writing skills the iNET team imparts on website development help iNET website customers achieve the highest value SERP placement thereby delivering more profit to iNET web marketing customers. While second tier website developers and website wannabes push pay per click marketing (That they don’t even use) and other spoofing techniques to achieve a SERP placement no one competes with iNET Web in cost of initial website development or the level of profit iNET websites deliver with the highest value placement on SERP. |
| Server: A program that provides a service (typically information) to another program, called the client. A Web server holds Web pages and allows client programs to read and write them.
Unlike most website companies iNET Web is not a reseller of some other businesses website hosting services. The iNET website design and development team has the distinct advantage of having a sister company that is the best computer hardware and technology company in the Milwaukee, Wisconsin market. With a more solid hardware and software technology support structure than most every other web design and development company could hope to have iNET is free to support whatever website serving programs we choose. A lot of wannabe web developers will speak of the newest server platform they are in or the software program or language they use to design and develop websites. The reality is they have no choice as the template host company they subscribe to makes the administrative decisions for them. For iNET the most important aspect of server programs we use is; “How does the server software affect the profitability of iNET customer websites?” The majority of iNET designed websites are hosted in Microsoft server software programs. iNET does have a number of Linux servers used for hosting some open source websites and email serving programs. Most iNET websites using a serious database structure to manage website content are connected to SQL servers. For iNET the stability of the infrastructure is one of the most important aspects of the server platforms we use. iNET never chases a trend or frivolously moves or changes the server structures we use. Having our own technology division leaves iNET free to utilize the server programs iNET Web chooses and to make changes based on our customer needs rather than the whim of a system administrator in a Texas or California server house. |
| SGML (Standard generalized markup language): An international standard in markup languages, a basis for HTML and a precursor to XML. SGML is used widely to manage large documents that are subject to frequent revisions and need to be printed in different formats. Because it is a large and complex system, it is not yet widely used on personal computers. However, the growth of Internet, and especially the World Wide Web, is creating renewed interest in SGML because the World Wide Web uses HTML, which is one way of defining and interpreting tags according to SGML rules. |
| Spiders: Automated online robots that search engines use to travel the Internet capturing, categorizing and ranking website content. A program that automatically fetches Web pages. Spiders are used to feed pages to search engines. It's called a spider because it crawls over the Web. Another term for these programs is webcrawler. Because most Web pages contain links to other pages, a spider can start almost anywhere. As soon as it sees a link to another page, it goes off and fetches it. Large search engines, like Google and Yahoo, have many spiders working in parallel. iNET Web development search engine specialists review, virtually every day, what it takes for every aspect of every iNET Custom Creative Genius produced website to be exactly as the algorithmic software applications known as web spiders require to achieve maximum value for our web development customer websites. In order for iNET websites to be perfectly definitive of customer product and services iNET Web develops every website from the custom database code to the graphic imagery to be as the spiders require. iNET never uses template code or junk code that restricts the ability of spiders to crawl your website. Making a website precisely as search engine spiders require to achieve highest site value is one aspect of iNET delivering superior profit generating web based marketing solutions. We guaranty it! |
| Sponsored Results: Paid placement of links (or ads with links) on a SERP. Define: Unique Visitors-The number of separate visitors to a website, including visitors who visit just one or more than once. "Total" visitors (or visits) are the number of times someone visits a website. The metric would be larger than the number of unique visitors because it includes visitors who landed more than once. A type of contextual advertising where Web site owners pay an advertising fee, usually based on click-throughs or ad views to have their Web site search results shown in top placement on search engine result pages. Some search engines will make it easy for users to determine which search results are natural and which are paid, while others will mix the results making it more difficult for users to determine which are the paid search results. Also called sponsored search. |
| Style sheet: A document that describes to a computer program (such as a browser) how to translate the document markup into a particular presentation (fonts, colors, spacing, etc.) on the screen or in print. See also CSS, XSL, separation of form from content. |
| SVG (Scalable vector graphics): A language for describing drawings in terms of the shapes that compose them, so that these can be rendered as well as possible. Short for Scalable Vector Graphics, a vector graphics file format that enables two-dimensional images to be displayed in XML pages on the Web. Vector images are created through text-based commands formatted to comply with XML specifications. In contrast to JPEG and GIF images on the Web, which are bitmapped and always remain a specified size, SVG images are scalable to the size of the viewing window and will adjust in size and resolution according to the window in which it is displayed. Benefits of SVG include:
|
|
U |
| URI (Universal resource identifier): The string (often starting with http:) that is used to identify anything on the Web. Short for Uniform Resource Identifier, the generic term for all types of names and addresses that refer to objects on the World Wide Web. A URL is one kind of URI. |
| URL (Uniform resource locator): Abbreviation of Uniform Resource Locator, the global address of documents and other resources on the World Wide Web. The first part of the address is called a protocol identifier and it indicates what "protocol" to use, and the second part is called a "resource name" and it specifies the IP address or the domain name where the resource is located. The "protocol identifier" and the "resource name" are separated by a colon and two forward slashes. For example, the two URLs below point to two different files at the domain inet-web.com. The first specifies an executable file that should be fetched using the FTP protocol; the second specifies a Web page that should be fetched using the HTTP protocol:
A URL often points to template or poor quality website development. Template development often can expose a website developer as one you should avoid if you want your website marketing platform to achieve high native search engine query results. Free search results are proven to be where the greatest profits are made on the World Wide Web. Even the superior production of page URLs allows iNET Web to generate the greatest level of income for our website development customers. iNET Web search engine experts and creative genius copy writers were hired to work on a local business persons template website. For iNET, working in templates is a frustrating experience. Templates do not allow our customers to win like Custom Creative Genius inspired websites do. This real example from the site iNET was hired to work on is a nearly worst case scenario of a page URL; http://www.dinnerselect.com/RapidCat/catalog/pagetemplate.cfm?PageId=4238&CompanyId=1304 Having been clued in by this customer of the devaluation this level of URL causes for website pages the web site developer changed many of the URLs to be more like this; http://www.dinnerselect.com/This_Weeks_Dinner_Menu-c1304-wp4865.htm While it may be more than most iNET website development customers (AND wannabe website developers) want to know or understand it is good to know as an iNET website customer, even something as seemingly inconsequential as page URLs is taken seriously in the development or website marketing solutions that deliver profit. |
|
W |
| W3C (World wide web consortium): A neutral meeting of those to whom the Web is important, with the mission of leading the Web to its full potential. Short for World Wide Web Consortium, an international consortium of companies involved with the Internet and the Web. The W3C was founded in 1994 by Tim Berners-Lee, the original architect of the World Wide Web. The organization's purpose is to develop open standards so that the Web evolves in a single direction rather tha |
WEBSITE HOME PAGE